Tuesday, September 20, 2011

How to Backup and Restore your iPhone

Restoring your device will erase all data from your iPhone, including songs, videos, contacts, photos, calendar information, and any other data. All iPhone settings are restored to their factory condition.
Whenever you restore your iPhone, Apple highly recommends that you perform a sync prior to restoring in order to back up any changes since your last sync.

How to Backup your iPhone

1) In iTunes, check Preferences > Devices to check the date and time of your latest backup.
2) If you do not have a recent backup, create one by right-clicking the device in the source list and choosing Back Up.

Use the Following Steps to Restore your iPhone:1) Make sure you have the latest version of iTunes installed and running before attempting to update.
2) Connect your iPhone to your computer.
3) Select your iPhone when it appears in iTunes under Devices.
4) Select the Summary tab..
5) Select the Restore option.
6) When prompted to back up your iPhone settings before restoring, select the Back Up option. If have just backed up the device, it is not necessary to create another.
7) Select the Restore option when iTunes prompts you (As long as you've backed up your device, you should not have to worry about restoring your phone).
8) Once the restore process has completed the iPhone restarts and displays the Apple logo while starting up.
For the iPhone only, after a restore, the iPhone displays the "Connect to iTunes" screen. Keep your device connected until the "Connect to iTunes" screen goes away or you see "iPhone is activated." If iTunes does not have an Internet connection, you cannot complete this step.
9) Select the back up you want for your iPhone (select "as new") and select the Continue button in order to complete your device's restoration.